Microsoft introduced the ‘Recycle Bin’ in 1995. It was well appreciated by all because of a unique option it provided. Once you have deleted a file and want it back; you don’t have to worry you can restore all those 1’s and 0’s to the exact same location. Well many of us are very well aware of this. The common misconception follows thereafter.
What if you delete the contents of the recycle bin?
What most of us think happens:
If there is that secretive or unwanted file you want to remove from your computer, you simply delete it and then clear the recycle bin. In some cases you directly delete if it’s too big for the recycle bin (or) using shift+Delete.
Though you feel you have achieved your purpose, you actually didn’t do……
Because, this is what actually happens:
Once the file is cleared from the recycle bin or directly deleted, it is not gone. Your hard disk drive still holds on to it. Those 1’s and 0’s you want to get rid of have only got hidden from your notice but are still there. This is because the computer only makes the operating system forget about the file by deleting the reference in the file table. But physically they haven’t moved an inch from where they were in the hard drive.
Why does this happen anyway….
It is all part of the user experience. This is the reason why deleting a file is lot easier than adding one into your computer. To be clearer, here is the process that takes place: While deleting, the computer only deletes its address and this is lot easier. Later on while you pile on more and more data on to your hard drive, the computer slowly overwrites the earlier set of bits with the newer ones.
What if you want to delete a file with virus?
Sorry to say but you can’t get rid of any viruses simply by deleting the files you suspect. It is because of the very nature of the recycle bin. So instead of trying to delete files and making them more unrecognizable, you should try using some of the standard methods. Also remember that simply quick formatting your drive isn’t of no use either.